Immigration Levels Plan 2022-2024: Canada is Striving to Welcome Over 40,000 Immigrants Every Year

Immigration Levels Plan 2022-2024: Canada is Striving to Welcome Over 40,000 Immigrants Every Year

Canada is thriving to improve immigration levels in a quest to strengthen the economy, unite families and offer humanitarian benefits to refugees. The federal government of Canada offers three classes of immigration: Economic, Family, and Refugee class.

The economic class includes applicants who are shortlisted for their outstanding abilities to support Canada’s economy through their capability to fulfill the labour market needs, establish or manage a business, invest, or by creating employment.

The family class includes applicants who are sponsored by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. This class aims to help family members and couples to reunite and live together in Canada. The applicants through this class are offered permanent status based on the relationship with a partner, parent, grandparent, spouse, child, or other relatives.

The refugee class includes applicants who own permanent resident status due to unpleasant situations in their home country based on race, religion, political opinion, and to name a few. This class also comprises people who have been affected by war or unrest or have experienced a violation of human rights.

Canada is fighting low rates of economic and labour force growth due to its older population and low birth rate. And, this is making it extremely difficult for Canada to make any changes to taxes of the country that needs to invest in social services like education and healthcare. due to this reason, Canada is working to increase its immigration levels for a robust economy and fiscal scenario.

See also  IRCC's New Method for Calculating Processing Times for Applications

Every year, the Canadian government comes up with the latest Immigration Levels Plan which describes the immigration objectives for the coming three years. The plan outlines the number and class of immigrants that the country wishes to welcome. This year, Canada is expecting to surpass 430,000 new permanent residents, with approximately 60% of new permanent residents falling under the economic class.

Also Read

The Economic Class

The economic class immigrants come through the Express Entry system. Qualifying candidates, mainly skilled workers submit their profile and after evaluation, they are allotted a score which is ranked by the Comprehensive Ranking System. Every 14 days, IRCC welcomes eligible applicants with the highest scores to apply for permanent residence.

The Express Entry pathway manages three programs, the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP), the Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC), and the Canadian Experience Class (CEC). Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) has been the main pathway that attracts skilled professionals across the globe. The pathway runs on the CRS – point-based system to evaluate age, education, work experience, and language proficiency.

See also  Sudbury's Latest RNIP Draw Invited 32 Applicants in the May 2024 Round

The Federal Skilled Trades Class is a pathway used to fulfill the labour shortages in the trades occupation. These applicants can have lower scores as they are not required to prove their education level, however, IRCC occasionally organizes program-specific Express Entry draws that welcome only FTSP candidates. The shortlisted candidates can attain permanent residence within the time frame of 6 months.

Last of all, the Canadian Experience Class is for the applicants who have work experience working in Canada and wish to become permanent residents. This is the pathway ideal for temporary international workers and foreign graduates who wish to continue to build their futures in Canada.

The provincial Nominee Program (PNP) is another lucrative pathway to immigrate to Canada as a skilled worker. This program was exclusively launched to extend immigration benefits across Canada. Thus, every Canadian provinces and territories benefit from the PNPs to welcome skilled workers to strengthen their economy. Quebec and Nunavut are the only provinces that operate individually.

The Family Class

Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada also welcome candidates through family sponsorship. A Canadian citizen or permanent resident can sponsor a foreign national spouse to attain Canadian permanent resident status. One can choose between the outland and inland sponsorships. As a sponsor, one must be able to support their spouse or partner financially. IRCC requests the applicant for proof of relationship.

See also  Quebec Invited 1,415 Candidates in the Latest Arrima Draw

A Canadian citizen or permanent resident can sponsor a dependent child to live with them as a permanent resident. For a child to qualify must be biological or adopted and should be under the age of 22 and unmarried. Likewise, in spousal sponsorships, a sponsor must provide for the child’s basic requirements.

Moreover, one can sponsor their parents and grandparents too. For this, the sponsor is required to exceed the minimum required income level for this program and promise to financially support the sponsor and pay any social assistance perks paid to the sponsored family members for 20 years. Applicants must also meet the minimum income requirements.

The Refugee Class

The candidates may immigrate to Canada through the refugee class. The resettled refugees and migrants who have been selected by the United Nations Refugee Agency while outside their home country stand eligible for Canadian permanent resident status. Also, refugees who landed in Canada can apply for asylum and can get their claims approved by the Immigration and Refugee Board. In case, if someone does not fall under the aforementioned criteria, however, make a compelling case and can be granted permanent resident status on a humanitarian basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.